Skip to content
RoboMow Lab
Go back

ecovacs a2000 vs a3000: which Goat LiDAR mower fits your yard

I’ve been looking at the specs for the Ecovacs Goat line, and the ecovacs a2000 vs a3000 question comes down to one number more than any other: how much lawn you actually have. Four listings turn up under those two names, and they aren’t four different machines so much as two platforms with a Pro tier bolted on top. This guide covers what each one does, where the money goes, and which yard each model suits.

Contents

The Four Models on the List, and What Separates Them

Two of the four listings are the same machine. ASIN B0GGZQTY2N and ASIN B0HDB23LRT are both the Goat A2000 LiDAR PRO at the same $1,999.99, and the documented details describe the same hardware: HoloScope 360 dual-LiDAR, an integrated TruEdge trimmer, a 32V dual-blade cutting system, and 113.4W charging. The second listing simply spells out more of the spec sheet, including the 13-inch cutting path, the 1.18 to 3.54 inch cutting height range, and the 1/2 acre coverage ceiling. Treat them as one product with two pages. ECOVACS Goat A3000
That leaves three real choices: the A2000 LiDAR PRO at $1,999.99, the A3000 LiDAR at $1,812.18, and the A3000 LiDAR PRO at $2,124.99.

The naming is the first thing to get straight, because it doesn’t run in a straight line. The A3000 LiDAR is the cheapest of the three. The A3000 LiDAR PRO is the most expensive. The A2000 LiDAR PRO sits in the middle. So “A3000” alone doesn’t tell you it costs more than “A2000” — the base A3000 undercuts both Pro models.

ModelPriceCoverageBattery and chargingEdge trimming
Goat A2000 LiDAR PRO$1,999.99Up to 1/2 acre3.0Ah, 113.4W, ~50 min rechargeBuilt-in TruEdge trimmer
Goat A3000 LiDAR$1,812.18Up to 3/4 acreNot specified in the listingNot specified in the listing
Goat A3000 LiDAR PRO$2,124.99Medium to large yards7500 mAh, 189W, ~70 min rechargeBuilt-in TruEdge trimmer

The A3000 LiDAR’s listing doesn’t state a battery capacity, a charge time, or an edge trimmer. That’s a gap worth noticing rather than filling in with a guess.

How to Choose Between the Goat A2000 and A3000

Three things decide this purchase, and none of them is the model number.

Coverage: 1/2 acre versus 3/4 acre

This is the whole argument. The A2000 LiDAR PRO is documented for lawns up to 1/2 acre. The A3000 LiDAR is documented for up to 3/4 acre. The A3000 LiDAR PRO is described as being for medium to large yards without a stated figure.

If your lawn is comfortably under half an acre, the A2000’s ceiling is not a constraint you’ll ever feel. If you’re at or above that line, you’re buying the A3000 for the coverage rating, and the price difference between the base A3000 and the A2000 PRO becomes almost irrelevant next to whether the mower can finish the job. ECOVACS Goat A3000

Mowing efficiency and how long the lawn takes

The A3000 LiDAR is rated at up to 400㎡/h. The A2000 LiDAR PRO is rated at up to 4,305 sq ft/h, which is roughly the same figure expressed in different units. On paper these two mow at a similar rate despite the coverage gap, which suggests the A3000’s larger yard rating comes from runtime and scheduling rather than raw speed. The A3000 LiDAR PRO’s listing doesn’t state an efficiency figure.

Battery, charge time and whether you need the Pro trimmer

The A2000 LiDAR PRO uses a 3.0Ah battery and recharges in about 50 minutes on 113.4W. The A3000 LiDAR PRO uses a 7500 mAh battery and recharges in about 70 minutes on 189W. Bigger battery, more power to refill it, longer wait. The A3000 LiDAR gives no battery or charge figures at all.

The other Pro-tier feature is the TruEdge trimmer. Both Pro models cut along borders with an integrated string trimmer and ship with trimming line — the A2000 PRO listing notes two rolls, each covering roughly 3km of edging. If you currently finish every mow with a string trimmer along the driveway and beds, that’s the feature you’re paying the Pro premium for. If your lawn runs into gravel or a rough field edge with nothing to trim against, it’s money you don’t need to spend.

If you buy through a link on this page I may earn a small commission. It does not change what you pay.

Ecovacs Goat A2000 LiDAR PRO (B0GGZQTY2N) See Today’s Deal on Amazon

The A2000 LiDAR PRO is the model most people asking about this comparison are actually picturing. It’s wire-free, so there’s no perimeter wire to bury and no RTK antenna to mount — the HoloScope 360 dual-LiDAR system maps the yard itself and holds 2cm positioning under trees and along fences, which is exactly where GPS-based mowers tend to struggle.

The cutting side is a 32V platform with dual blade discs, aimed at American grasses including Bermuda, Zoysia, Fescue and St. Augustine. Ecovacs rates the 32V motor as stronger than previous Goat models, based on its own lab testing, so treat that as a manufacturer claim rather than an independent figure.

Charging is the standout number: a 3.0Ah battery refilled in about 50 minutes on 113.4W. For a mower that returns to dock mid-task, a sub-hour recharge keeps the schedule roughly intact.

You can find the current price on Amazon for this listing. ECOVACS Goat A3000

Ecovacs Goat A2000 LiDAR PRO (B0HDB23LRT)

Same machine, more fully documented. This listing is where the A2000 PRO’s missing numbers show up: a 13-inch cutting path, electronically adjustable cutting height from 1.18 to 3.54 inches through the ECOVACS HOME app, coverage up to 1/2 acre, and mowing efficiency up to 4,305 sq ft/h.

It also details the obstacle avoidance, which the other A2000 listing leaves vague. AI Vision and 3D-ToF LiDAR recognise more than 200 common obstacle types and respond to objects as close as 1.97 inches. That’s the spec that matters if your lawn has kids’ toys, a dog, or a hedge border you’d rather the mower didn’t chew.

Positioning accuracy is quoted at 0.8 inches here rather than 2cm, which is the same figure in different units. The 360° rotating LiDAR and 3D-ToF LiDAR are described as working after dark, not just in shade.

The listing for this model is the one to read if you want the full spec sheet before deciding.

Ecovacs Goat A3000 LiDAR (B0GXVPSRX5)

The A3000 LiDAR is the value pick on this list, and the specs back that up rather than the price tag alone. It’s $1,812.18 — cheaper than both Pro models — while being rated for lawns up to 3/4 acre, the largest coverage figure given for any product here.

Navigation is dual-LiDAR with up to 2cm precision and no perimeter wire or RTK station. Obstacle avoidance covers the same 200+ object recognition, and it adds a slope rating the others don’t state: up to 50% (27°) climbing, plus the ability to cross small barriers. If your yard has a hill or a narrow path between beds, that’s a documented capability you won’t find on either A2000 listing.

It carries an IPX6 waterproof rating, which means you can hose it down rather than wipe it. Mowing efficiency is up to 400㎡/h on the same 32V dual-disc platform and 13-inch path. ECOVACS Goat A3000 What the listing doesn’t give you is battery capacity, charge time, or an edge trimmer. Those are the three things the Pro models add, and for this price you’re trading them away for coverage, slope handling and a washable body.

The current price on Amazon is the lowest of the three models.

Ecovacs Goat A3000 LiDAR PRO (B0GGYYQLXL)

The A3000 LiDAR PRO is the top of the range at $2,124.99, and it’s the only model here that pairs the large-yard platform with the Pro-tier hardware.

The battery is the differentiator: 7500 mAh against the A2000 PRO’s 3.0Ah, charged at 189W and refilled in about 70 minutes. That’s a longer wait than the A2000 PRO’s 50 minutes, but it’s feeding a much larger pack, so the trade is runtime against recharge time rather than one being simply better.

It keeps the TruEdge trimmer for edge-to-edge cutting along driveways, sidewalks and flower beds, the 32V dual-blade system for dense grass, and the HoloScope 360 dual-LiDAR mapping with 2cm positioning. App control covers multiple zones, no-go areas, cutting height and speed, and travel paths between zones.

The coverage figure is described as medium to large yards without a stated acreage, so if you’re near the 3/4 acre mark, the base A3000 is the one with the number attached. The listing for this model is where the battery and charging specs are spelled out.

Which One to Buy

For most yards under half an acre, the Goat A2000 LiDAR PRO is the safe default. It has the full spec sheet — 1/2 acre coverage, 50-minute recharge, 13-inch cut, edge trimming included — and it’s $125 cheaper than the A3000 PRO while doing the same job on a smaller lawn. Between the two A2000 listings, the B0HDB23LRT page is the one with the numbers on it.

If your lawn is closer to 3/4 acre, or it has a slope, buy the Goat A3000 LiDAR. It’s the cheapest model here at $1,812.18, it covers the most ground, and it’s the only one with a documented 50% slope rating and an IPX6 body. You give up the edge trimmer and the published battery specs to get there, and that’s a real trade, not a free upgrade.

The Goat A3000 LiDAR PRO at $2,124.99 is for the buyer who needs both: a large lawn and the TruEdge trimmer, with the 7500 mAh battery to keep a bigger yard on schedule. If you don’t trim against hard borders, that premium is hard to justify.

Two things to check before ordering. First, confirm your actual lawn area rather than estimating it — the 1/2 acre line is the single decision point in this comparison. Second, note that the A3000 LiDAR’s battery capacity and charge time aren’t published, so if recharge downtime matters to you, ask before you buy rather than assuming it matches the Pro. See Today’s Deal on Amazon

See more rankings of thebest robot lawn mowers

Share this post on:

Previous Post
WORX WR310 Robot Mower Review: No Wire, Some Sweat
Next Post
ECOVACS Goat A2000 LiDAR PRO Review: Dual LiDAR Robot Mower